Understanding the many

Types of heart valve disease

Four valves.
Three types of disease

Your heart has four valves: aortic, mitral, tricuspid, and pulmonary. All four of them can develop different kinds of heart valve disease: stenosis, regurgitation (insufficiency), and atresia.

Pulmonary heart diagram outlining the four valves: tricuspid, pulmonary, mitral, and aortic
Heart valve stenosis icon


Your valve becomes stiff and has a small opening, which limits your blood flow.

Learn more
Heart valve regurgitation icon


Your valve doesn’t close all the way, letting blood flow back into your heart.

Learn more
Heart valve atresia icon


Your valve isn’t formed correctly and is blocked by solid tissue.

Learn more

Next section

What’s the deadliest type of heart valve disease?